Botched Music Genome Project

Hi IGWers,

Of course many of you know about Pandora.com. It is an awesome site and part of my daily experience, however, it got me thinking. Now that Pandora essentially dominates the recommended music market there might still be an opening the other direction. That is in the unrecommended music collection. I’m talking about going right from Jay-Z and Rap right to Polka. Expand those horizons people.

Some other ideas I have for the unsuccessful music market include:

1. Songs play like in Pandora, but they all skip. How annoying would that be?
2. You are only allowed one download. That download is obviously delivered to you via golden ticket. Wonka suggested something like this.
3. The third idea is like Redbull/Vodka drinks. You are only allowed to listen to a fast song and then a slow song. Kind of like a depressant and stimulant mixed.
4. Local Fail- This idea is to promote the local bar karaoke talent. I know that some of the American Idol stars might have been found this way, but certainly not ALL OF THEM.

To more music innovation gone wrong!

Please check us out at Innovationgonewrong.com. Please feel free to recommend your innovation gone wrong ideas.

Hondo

4 Responses

  1. It sounds like you’re a little skeptical of music innovation. With that in mind, I thought you may want to check out a website called MyBandStock.com.

    This is a true revolution and innovation to the music industry. Using the power of crowdsourcing, MyBandStock helps musicians at the start of their career find financing from their fan support.

    I’d definitely encourage you to check out my blog or the website itself. Maybe you’d like to rethink musical innovation…

    • I disagree with your comment. I’m a huge fan of musical innovation. This article was just joking around. If I like Mybandstock.com I’ll write back and we’ll set up an interview for upstartinnovation.com. That is my site for good ideas.

Leave a Reply

